· 

Carlijn from the Netherlands



My name is Carlijn, I'm 19 years old and I live in Utrecht, a city in the middle of the Netherlands.

Compared to other countries, my situation has been pretty good. We don't have a total lockdown. It means that almost everything like stores and restaurants are closed but we're still allowed to go out with 2 people at a time. We also have a rule that says that we have to keep a 1,5 meter distance from everybody, so when I meet people I can't come close to them.

I am in my first year of college right now but all schools are closed. That's why I have around 2 online classes each day. It's actually pretty boring to be home all the time and that's why I just miss being at school. I also miss all my friends from school a lot.

I actually didn't do a lot to help in my community. I just try to help my parents or grandma with groceries and stuff like that. I also try to stay busy at home. I sorted out my room, painted my bike and sometimes I go for a run or a walk with a friend (and of course we keep our distance !).

I learned that I find it pretty difficult to stay productive and finish my assignments on time because I've got less motivation to do my homework. But because I have a lot of free time I also told myself I have to call people more and just ask them how they are doing and stay socially active.

I sometimes read the newspaper on my phone and I watch the news almost every evening. But sometimes it drives me crazy to hear a lot of different things about the virus and I just don't know what to believe anymore, so I just try to focus on the reliable news sources.

When quarantine ends I'm definitely going to visit my friends and family because I haven't seen a lot of them in a while. I'm also going to party and practice sports because I didn't think I would miss doing that this much.

The only thing I want to share is that people should listen to the rules and do what their government tells them. I still see a lot of people walking around like nothing is going on but it's so important to follow the rules so we can get out of this quarantine soon.

Write a comment

Comments: 0

Contact us

qatw2020@yahoo.com

Instagram : @quarantine.around.the.world