· 

Kat from the Czech Republic


Right now, I spend a lot of time at home.


Hi, I am Kat. I am nineteen and I live in a beautiful town in eastern Bohemia in the Czech Republic.

 

 

The situation in my country has been changing over the past few weeks. At one point we were not allowed to leave home unless for work, grocery shopping or any urgent issue.

 

At the moment, we must wear facemasks all the time except for when we are at home or in a vehicle alone. We cannot gather in groups of more than two (family makes an exception). Schools (just like restaurants) are closed and will remain that way until the end of the school year. Currenly only some types of shops are opened – especially supermarkets with groceries, hobbymarkets (handycraft), and drugstores.

I am graduating from grammar school this year. Since the second week of March all schools have been canceled. My school does not give me much work (barely any), and that allowes me to focus on preparing for my graduation exams at the end of the school year. They will come later than expected and in a little changed form. I miss hanging out with my friends, otherwise not much. I even prefer to prepare for my exams at home alone.

I did involve in the community a little bit – that is when there was a major deficiency of facemasks and the whole nation clung together and started sewing homemade facemasks. I contributed and gave some away. I prepare for my graduation exams and I read a lot. I finally have time to read all the books I wished to read before. I also actively improve my Spanish with Duolingo.

 

 

I am learning to listen to my body and learning what it needs or disapproves of. I go to bed early and wake up also early and full of energy. I think this is a perfect time to just slow down and really appreciate who you are and maybe learn things about yourself you never knew about.

Mostly social media. I do not watch TV and try to avoid the word corona as much as possible.

I cannot wait to see my friends and go to concerts. I will try to continue with my sleeping schedule and keep in mind the things I learned about myself. Being alone helps me right now.

 

 

 

Stop panicking. Stay at home and do not go anywhere unless necessary and urgent. Do not be stupid. Relax and try to make the best of this situation.

Write a comment

Comments: 0

Contact us

qatw2020@yahoo.com

Instagram : @quarantine.around.the.world