· 

Nell from Germany


Nell a 19 ans et habite en Allemagne. En classe de terminale, elle a suivi les cours de la fin de l'année scolaire en ligne. Cependant, elle ressent un sentiment d'unité et de solidarité avec le reste du monde. Elle profite aussi du temps pendant le confinement pour réfléchir à son futur, et à la vie qu'elle souhaite mener.


Hello, my name is Nell, I am 19 years old and live in Germany, close to Bonn and Cologne 

At the moment we have to stay home as much as possible. We are only allowed to leave the house with our family or with one other personBigger groups (unless it is familyhave to pay if they get caught. I have actually heard of the police walking aroundlooking for groupsOnly grocery storespharmaciesbanks and gas stations are open. There is also an exeption for take-away food. But we are not allowed to go out to eatAt the stores are also a few regulations. I believe only 20 people are allowed to be in the store at the same time. Buthis might varydepending on the size of the storeEveryone has to take a cartto guarantee a distance toothersBetween the cashier and the customer is a glass wall and you have to put cash in a seperate containerFor the queuesthere are lines on the floorthat show where one can stand. I have also seen that there is a system for “dirty” and clean shopping carts.On one side you have to take a cart out that has been desinfected and on a different side you have to put your used cartfor it to be cleanedWe do not have to wear gloves and masks, but are advised to do so. 

I am in 12th grade (senior). My school year would have ended at the start of the Easterbreak. 

Unfortunately it had to end 2 weeks early

During those 2 weeks we had online classes and homework send to us. The school time (for seniorsgenerally ends with finals after the Easter break. The original dates were around the 20th of April. They are now postponed to around the 12th of May. 

Officials have told us though that they might make new changes.Such as another postponement or not havingany finals at all, but taking the average grades as the final grades.  

I miss the social interaction (meeting friends, etc.), having a daily routine and just my free life. 

usually have to study for a bit everyday. I also readplay Ukulele, play games with my familylay in the sun, do gardeningpaintdraw or write. So I actually have quite some things to keep me busy with. I have met a few friends (seperatelytoo. 

You learn to appreciate everyone and everything in your life. The liberty, we are lucky enough to experience usually, is a true blessing. Just the simpelest hug turns out to have a bigger importance than I thought. I am grateful for the time, I have with my family at the moment. I miss my friends a lotthough. I also realized how important a daily structure is or just being able to go to the city without any worries

You really can not escape your thoughts. And it is a good thing to be confronted with them. 

have a few News-”app” that send me updates on the daily. I also see a lot on social media 

want to figure out what to do with myselfMy original goal, after I graduatehas always been to travel with my best friendSadlythis won’t be possible and I have to look for an alternative. I might start to study at a University earlier than expected.

But I don’t know yet. I also want to be more aware of what the presence of others gives to me and maybe also try to live as freely 

as I can. 

These past weeks and days, I have felt really connected to everyone. This is a very unique situation that effects everyone around the globeWe are all in this together. Not everyone might be effected the same way, but one way or another. I wish this feeling would last. Obviously without the circumstancesTo feel unity regardlessUnity when it comes to issues, such as climate changethat will sooner or later effect everyone as well. I hope everyone stays safe during these trying times. Every single one of you is brave and can make a differenceStay insideMask upWash your hands! Be there for one another! Follow the rules 

Much love from Germany!! 

 

Write a comment

Comments: 0

Contact us

qatw2020@yahoo.com

Instagram : @quarantine.around.the.world