· 

Willa from the USA


My name is Willa, I’m seventeen and I live in Lacey, Washington, U.S.A.

 

 

The Washington Governor has applied a mandatory stay-at-home order, which means we are not supposed to leave our homes unless to get supplies or go to work. Many in our state have started working from home following this order except “essential workers” who are still required to attend their place of work. When residents do go outside, they have to wear a mask and stay six feet away from others at all times. While this rule is generally practiced by many, it is not heavily enforced and there are still plenty of people who disobey these instructions and gather in groups without masks. I would say that roughly 60-70% people in my city follow the guidelines set by the State Governor’s Office.

 

I am finishing up my senior year at River Ridge High School. Our school has been out since March 14th and was set to resume April 27th but the Governor extended the stay-at-home order until May 4th. We were notified that we would not be returning to school this year, and instead would be continuing classes online starting April 13th. I miss most seeing my friends and playing tennis (which was also cancelled), as well as the ease of being able to talk to my teachers in person. I miss most all of the events that are important to seniors that were cancelled, such as decision day, prom, honors night, and graduation. All of the moments that I most looked forward to as a senior are never going to happen and part of me is quite sad about that.

I mostly talk or watch Netflix over a discord call with my boyfriend. We aren’t allowed to see each other in person, but calling and talking throughout the day helps a lot. When we aren’t talking, I’m usually watching Youtube or working on my embroidery (a new skill I picked up during quarantine). In the beginning I cooked a lot and have promised myself I’ll learn how to make my own pasta and bread by the end of this ordeal. There’s not much I can do in the community, but I contacted my city to see if there was something we could do to support each other without violating the guidelines set in place. If I get permission, then I’ll try and start a mask drive where people can sew masks for healthcare workers or shelters that need it.

Just how hard it is to be separated from your significant other for weeks on end. I’ve also learned that I enjoy gardening, and have been helping my family plant fruits and vegetables for this spring, as well as picking out plants for my own section of the yard.

 

 

 

I mo

 

 

 

I mostly learn about the pandemic from press releases from our Governor, but I learn general information from news outlets online.

 

 

 

Give my boyfriend a giant hug and spend an entire day making up for lost time. I’m also going to enjoy the sun and spend a day outside enjoying the fresh air. I’ll likely spend a day with my best friend going to all our favorite food places that shut down during quarantine. I think I’m going to incorporate more hobbies into my life and work harder to do something productive each week, as well as making time to go to the gym regularly.

 

 

The best way to stay happy is to stay busy. Explore things you’ve never done before and you’re bound to land on something you genuinely enjoy. For me it was embroidery and cooking, and I’ve found I love both. Stay connected with your friends and family and find ways to appreciate each other in spite of social distancing. For me, the best way to fight off depression is to be productive. When I feel like I’ve wasted away a day doing nothing, I tend to feel pretty melancholy and end up wishing I had done more. Try to do something productive every few days to keep your self-esteem up and give yourself a sense of accomplishment. 

Write a comment

Comments: 0

Contact us

qatw2020@yahoo.com

Instagram : @quarantine.around.the.world