· 

Karla from Romania


Karla a 19 ans et étudie au Royaume-Uni. Originaire de Roumanie, quand son pays a commencé à fermer ses frontières elle a pris le premier avion pour rentrer chez elle. Elle profite du confinement pour se consacrer à des nouveaux hobbies comme la broderie et nous rappelle l'importance de prendre du temps pour soi.


Hello! My name is Karla, I am 19 years old and I am from Romania. I am a student at university in the United Kingdom and I live In Birmingham. Due to the present situation regarding the COVID-19 pandemic, I am currently back in Romania. 

Romania is currently in a state of emergency. Several cities are right now in a lockdown due to an increased number of cases in those areas. We are all confined to our homes and are allowed to go out only under certain circumstances (such as going to the nearest shop for basic supplies, voluntary work directed at the pandemic or work-related travel) and only provided we carry a signed document that explains the reason for our departure. Elderly people are allowed to go out only for two hours a day, between 11 am and 1 pm. Restaurants and stores are closed. When the crisis gained prominence in Europe, I was still in the UK, studying at the university. My country started closing its borders with certain countries, so I took the first plane to Romania before the flights with the UK would be restricted. Fortunately, now I am home. 

I am first year university student. I took part in a few weeks of online classes, but they stopped now as we entered the Easter holiday. I find it hard to keep my motivation outside the class environment. My connection with the professors and the other students is a fundamental part of my learning process. I am energized and often charmed by the discussions we carry during lectures and outside them, I find it a little hard to arrange and develop my ideas. I miss human interaction and I can’t wait to be in the classroom again. 

I study English Literature and Philosophy, so reading is essential to me. I try to take advantage of this time to read as much as I can. It keeps my mind busy and open. I am isolated with my boyfriend, so we are entertaining ourselves with cooking fancy dishes, playing poker or watching movies. I started trying out new hobbies such as embroidery (it’s very relaxing actually), drawing or sewing.

 

 

I am learning to use my creativity in different ways than my usual essays and creative writing I have to prepare for university. I found out I quite like hands-on activities and I keep having everyday little projects. One day I sewed a headband, another I embroidered a flower, which are activities I would have never tried out before, let alone think I could enjoy them.

 

 

I check reliable internet sources. I believe that especially during this time it is extremely important to protect against fake news and check our sources. Unfortunately, in Romania outrageous information reaches people, such as various cures for the virus or substances to use as sanitizers. I am trying to raise awareness within my community on the dangers of such news. Always, always check the source.

 

 

 

I will take the first train to the seaside and stare at the sea for as long as I can. Then I will spend quality time with all my friends and family. 

 

 This is a time in which toxic productivity is especially dangerous. We are surrounded by ideas to be productive at home, monetize your hobbies, learn new skills. I easily fell into this trap. But be gentle with yourselves. Even if we don’t feel it consciously, we experience a collective trauma that has a negative, tiring impact on us. It’s okay to be tired even if you didn’t leave your house for an entire day. It’s okay to wake up late and watch movies. It’s okay to have only one or two productive studying hours a day and not give in to a ten hours study sessions to “take advantage” of all this free time. Don’t punish yourself for not being productive, reward yourself for taking care of your mind. Be gentle. 

Write a comment

Comments: 0

Contact us

qatw2020@yahoo.com

Instagram : @quarantine.around.the.world